Sometimes it works…

Hm, the internet is frustrating.  Sometimes it works great.  Other times, not so much.  It’s funny though because certain sites always load (like NHK’s news site) while others slowdown or don’t load at all (like Facebook).  Clearly there is something funny going on with more popular sites at certain hours of the day. Oh well, gives me an excuse to get off the computer I guess.

What have I been up to?  Not much lately.  We just had a week off which was nice.  I took a few day trips but nothing crazy.  I think I’ll leave the crazy for New Years.  I’m not sure what exactly I’m going to do, but I’ll think of something.

Despite not really doing much this break it was nice to relax.  I am not ready to go back to work tomorrow. I really just want to relax, take it easy, and sleep in a few more days.  Oh well, I’ll leave that for when I’m successfully traveling the world.  Until then, just some everyday life shots:

View from my apartment

View from my apartment building

We had a stormy weekend which made for amazing views of the clouds coming over the mountains.  I’m wondering if that is 白山 (Haku-san) in the distance, the tallest peak in the picture.  Whether is or not, it is a beautiful mountain that you can see from my window.  This picture was taken a few floors up from the staircase.

Yamanaka-onsen

Yamanaka-onsen

Yamanaka-onsen

Yamanaka-onsen

On Tuesday I took the train to 加賀温泉 (Kaga-onsen) and then the bus to 山中温泉 (Yamanaka-onsen).  There I walked a gorge I walked a few years ago during a school trip.  So for anyone who was with me on that trip – Yes, it was raining.  Yes, there were way too many spiders.  Yes, 山中温泉 is a different town.  Seriously though, way too many spiders.  They were everywhere and they were large.  There were colorful ones like these and ones that blended in so well you didn’t see them until it was almost too late.

Freshwater Crab

Freshwater Crab

It wasn’t all spiders though.  I did see this little guy crawling among the leaves.

Back in Kanazawa:

Ice Block in Omicho Market

Ice Block in Omicho Market

Because the summer is hot they put ice blocks out in the market.  They put new ones out each day.

Omicho Market

Omicho Market

The other day, next to the ice shoot (where I’m assuming most of the venders get ice for their stalls) were some wooden crates.  I’m not sure what they were doing there as it was mid-day and the market was actually mostly empty due to the holiday.

Anyway, that’s it for now!

Leave a Reply

