New Year in Kyoto

DSC_0308                                                                                                                                                        Nishi-otani

I have arrived.  Okay, so I arrived this morning after sleeping through my train.  I woke up after my train had departed. I was not packed either, as I had fallen asleep while waiting for my laundry to finish drying.  When I woke up my apartment was quite warm because I had put the heat on high to dry my clothes as quickly as possible.

Luckily my ticket was still valid (except for the seat reservation) and I was able to take a later train.  I even was able to find a seat in an unreserved car.  The train took us through snow, some of which looked on the deeper end of the scale before arriving in snowless Kyoto.  I took a taxi from the station because I couldn’t be bothered with dealing with my bags on public transport.

I even lucked out when I arrived at the hostel – I was able to check in early and get unpacked and organized.  Afterwards I went out exploring a bit, wandering the streets of Kyoto.  I managed to find the boxwood comb store I went looking for in August.  They had some very nice (and expensive) combs available.  I also wandered through some temples and shrines both before and after I visited the store.  The preparations for New Years are under way.  Decorations are being hung and people are swarming.

Leave a Reply

