Chicken Soup and Tea

The past two days the weather in Kanazawa has been quite nice; cool and sunny with a nice breeze.  This means I’ve managed to get all of my laundry washed and hung out to dry.  I just checked and only a few items are still damp (and just slightly).  At night it is quite cool.  I enjoy the cooler (and especially the colder) weather.

Visiting the sentō in the cooler weather is also a nice way to relax on a Sunday evening.  The contrast between the hot baths and the cool outdoors is invigorating.  I do make sure to dress warmly for the bike ride home though, as I do not want to catch a chill.  Lately the sentō has been more crowded.  This doesn’t make it any less relaxing though as everyone pretty much keeps to themselves with the occasional quiet conversation.

Besides making rice in the rice cooker, I have found one of the easiest meals to make is chicken soup.  It is easy to prepare and makes a few nights worth of food at one time.  How do I make my chicken soup?  In a pot I combine water, a pinch of sea salt and a little ground pepper.  To this I add diced garlic, chopped onion, sliced carrots, and cut up chicken breast.  That’s it.  That is all that is in my soup.  I refrigerate the extra soup in single serving tupperware, making it easy to heat up on the stove when I get home from work.  Easy and inexpensive.

As the weather turns cooler I find myself drinking more tea.  Today while I was out buying groceries I came across a temporary tea kiosk.  I tried a tea that is flavored with sweet potato.  It was quite tasty so I bought a package.  It is vacuum sealed so I don’t have to worry about using it right away.  Right now I have 玄米茶 (a tea with roasted rice) and an Oolong from Taiwan open that I am working my way through.

I’ll leave you with another view from my apartment…

DSC_0010

Leave a Reply

