I’m a Really Bad Tourist

DSC_0119

Fushimi-Inari Taisha

Really, I am.  I woke up this morning with every intention of being a good tourist for once in my life.  By a good tourist I mean doing all those touristy things, seeing a million sites in one day.  My problem is I can’t do it.  I just can’t!  I was at one site this morning and ended up staying most of the day.  I didn’t even see the whole thing.  Fushimi-Inari Taisha – 伏見稲荷大社 – is huge!  I don’t mean just huge, I mean the there is a shrine at the top of a mountain kind of huge!  And I made it to the top.  Dressed in a skirt, nice shirt, and flip flops.  I left my makeup somewhere at the foot of the mountain it was so hot today!  It just kind of melted off!  That’s right, I got dressed nice to go sightseeing and I had every intention of making it to a few different places today.  Hasn’t happened yet!  Maybe tonight?

This isn’t exactly a new problem of mine either.  I’m always a bad tourist.  I like to see what I’m looking at and that ends up taking more time than just going to look at sites.  And then when I say that it sounds extra snobbish.  My problem is I focus on the little details instead of the big picture.  And so after being in Kyoto for a bit more than a day I’ve seen two things.  Fushimi-Inari Taisha and Kiyomizu-dera, both of which I will write more about later.  Kiyomizu-dera was interesting as I went at night.  They are lighting it at night for a short period of time which made it a neat way to visit a popular site.

That’s it for now but I hope to update soon and have some more photos for you all to enjoy!

Any questions just ask…I’ll do my best to answer them!

5 comments

  1. I know your plight all to well unfortunately. I often say to myself I’ll see these few places today and so on but at some point some little thing grabs me and several hours later I’m still there and my nice plans go by the wayside.
    Did you enjoy Kyoto? I remember when I went it was quite beautiful in some places.

    • I did! Thanks for asking. I am going to post some more about my trip but first I need to go through some of the (many) photos I took. I hope to get a post or two up this weekend.

      • I’m glad that you did. It really is a lovely city.
        I know how hard it can be to sort through photos sometimes. I always find it funny when you find a strange photo you don’t remember taking. i looking forward to seeing them.

  2. I must be a bad tourist too… I arrived in Rio de Janeiro for a 10day stopover on my way to Madrid…. that was 21 years ago, I’m still here.

    I have travelled all over SA, I tend to stop in places for a month+.

    AV


Leave a Reply

